Television Intrusion

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

Television is increasingly found in places it wasn’t before such as the family car, public squares, airplanes, gas stations, public bathrooms, restaurants, transit hubs, universities, and malls. How does the presence of a television in these spaces change the experience of being in the space? Is this a positive or a negative development?

I have never really paid attention to this question before until now, which in its own right, has opened my eyes to how conditioned I have become to the absurd amount of televisions there are all around me. So yesterday I took it upon myself to do some observations. I woke up and went to the gym and counted 12 TVs – all of which were being watched by people on treadmills or by others in the weight room. Later that day, I went to a pub to meet some friends and I counted 8 TVs, not including the 4 in the washroom.

Have we all numbed ourselves to how truly distracting all of this is? I fear we have. These questions made me think of Minority Report as well. In it, Tom Cruise walks around this futuristic city while various cameras scan his eyes and display customized advertisements tailored to him on numerous screens.  I remember thinking to myself how disruptive that would be on day-to-day life and how we as a free thinking society, would never allow for this kind of intrusion. I’m not so sure anymore.

Leave a Reply

